Cruising Club of America Recognizes Salty Dawg Team PDF Print Email
Sunday, March 14, 2021 05:59 PM

In the Spring of 2020, as the world was becoming paralyzed by the COVID-19 Pandemic, The Salty Dawg Sailing Association sprang into action and organized the Homeward Bound Flotilla to help 473 sailors in 184 vessels get from the Caribbean to the east coast of the United States.  It was an extraordinary effort involving on-shore coordination, 24-hour emergency assistance teams standing by, weather routing, tracking, and fast-paced thinking.  

The Cruising Club of America (CCA) has recognized this effort and awarded the Homeward Bound Flotilla Salty Dawg team their prestigious Special Recognition Award This is an award that is only given in select years to someone who has made an exceptional contribution to the sailing community.  The CCA will be presenting this award virtually to SDSA President, Hank George, on behalf of the Salty Dawg team at the CCA’s Annual Meeting on March 2nd.  

We are proud to be associated with this team of dedicated Salty Dawg Members who exemplify our motto of “Sailors Helping Sailors.”

Thank you, Hank George, Jo Barnes, Kathleen Brandel, Howard Cheetham, Ros Cheetham, Joan Conover, Ken Gelao, Lynn Hoenke, Tatja Hopman, Bennett Kashdan, Linda Knowles, Nancy Magnine, John Makar, Dorothy Mammen, Dave McKay, Tim Metcalf, Brian Murray, Bob Osborn, Russ Owen, Rick Palm, Mindy Piuk, Lydia Strickland, Sheldon Stuchell, Barb Theisen, and Phillip Worrall.